2017 Expenditures!

MY EXPENSES! I forgot about my annual expenses!

graph

 

I spent about $5,500 more than what I spent last year. But considering that included in my total expenses is about 60% the price of a new Honda Civic, that is NOT THAT BAD right? That actually sounds really insane – why would I have spent so much less…

Ok I saved $1,200 by NOT having to replace a water heater in 2017. I saved about $200 by switching from Comcast to Wave for half the year. I saved $4,000 in vacation expenses by 1) taking one less NYC trip, 2) taking a flight to Hawaii in 2017 as opposed to flying to Japan in 2016, and 3) my mom reimbursed me for hotels I booked for the family vacation to Alaska this year. (I didn’t ask her to and she hadn’t done this in prior years)

I spent $900 less in eating out (success!) which was offset by a $300 increase in groceries. I spent $1,000 more in shopping though … what did I even buy?!?! I looked through it all and all my “shopping” expenses was really wedding and baby gifts and nothing for me. Boo to having friends! My 2018 goal is actually to go shopping more often. Specifically, to buy things for my closet and not just DVDs or knickknacks for the house. This sounds like such a backwards resolution, to spend MORE money. But I need style!

Leave a comment